Odysseus Chamber Orchestra Presents The Soldier's Tale

I had never seen The Soldier's Tale before, so this weekend's performance was a whole new experience for me.
"Odysseus - The Soldier's Tale 2" - McKinney, Texas
"Odysseus - The Soldier's Tale 1" - McKinney, Texas
The story is based on a old Russian folk story which was published by Alexander Afanasyev as The Runaway Soldier and the Devil in the late 1800s.
"Odysseus - The Soldier's Tale 3" - McKinney, Texas
The music was written in 1918 by Igor Stravinsky and the play was written by C.F. Ramuz.  The music was composed for a septet (7) consisting of a violin, clarinet, base, percussion, bassoon, trumpet, and trombone.  There are three speaking parts as well as at least one non speaking dancer: the devil, the soldier, the narrator, and the princess.
Add caption
The tale focuses on a soldier who trades the devil his fiddle for a book that provides riches and the havoc that the devil wreaks on the soldier's life.
Add caption
This past weekend's performance included a wonderful musical performance by The Odysseus Chamber Orchestra and beautiful dancing and acting from Amiti Perry and her company.

Posted in , , , . Bookmark the permalink. RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Swedish Greys - a WordPress theme from Nordic Themepark. Converted by LiteThemes.com.